Motoring tradition in St. Moritz

Unforgettable
St. Moritz
Automobile Weeks

In 1925, following a positive outcome of the 10th referendum, Grisons was the last Swiss canton to allow the use of cars. Just four years later, St. Moritz hosted the 1st International Automobile Week.

At the initiative of a group of local tourism pioneers, the first «International Automobile Week St. Moritz» took place in 1929. The centrepiece of the event is the 16.5 kilometres long «Bernina Mountain Race». Winners of this race are the legendary racing drivers Hans Stuck in an Austro-Daimler ADR 3.0 (in 1929) and Louis Chiron in a Bugatti T47 (in 1930). Famous names such as Rudolf Caracciola, Ernst-Günther Burggaller, the Prince of Leiningen, and Count Arco-Zinnberg feature on the roster of drivers.

Another crowd puller is the «kilomètre lancé», a race over a distance of 1 kilometre requiring a precise dead stop at the one-kilometre mark. To stage the event, Shell commissions to asphalt the road between Punt Muragl and Samedan, giving it a new name, Shell Road, still in use today. The Bernina Race, held on a conspicuously gravelled road, couldn't cut it on the international scene and was cancelled after the second event in 1930.

Today, the Alpine city's automotive tradition lives on in the form of high-profile annual meets like the British Classic Car Meeting St. MoritzPassione Engadina, and the WinterRaid. The Bernina Gran Turismo get-together, with a race over the Bernina Pass on a closed-off mountain road, is most reminiscent of the original car racing weeks of 1929 and 1930. Aside from that, renowned automotive manufacturers, such as BMW and Maserati, regularly give winter driving training in the Engadin. The St. Moritz Automobile Club organises guided excursions; all those who want to have their classic car serviced in the Engadin will see their automobile in good hands at Volante Classic Car.

Three classic car events in brief

British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz

The British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz is the sophisticated highlight to go to for classic British car enthusiasts – this St. Moritz rendezvous goes back to 1994. It is a blend of elegance and class, set in the Engadine Alps. Every July, around 200 old-timers and classic cars of the makes Rolls-Royce, Bentley, Aston Martin & Lagonda, Jaguar & Daimler, Austin-Healey & Healey take part in outings, a regularity test (rally), and the «Concours d'élégance». A limited number of other pre-1967 British cars are invited to take part in the British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz in the Open Class.

www.bccm-stmoritz.ch

Passione Engadina

The Passione Engadina, taking place in August, is reserved for Italian classic cars that have been manufactured prior to 1981. All Italian makes can enter. Every year, another make takes on the role of host car make at an event that has been held since 2012. High points of the event are a rally with a regularity test on the Alpine roads of the Engadin and a Concorso d'Eleganza. Passione Engadina is nothing less than the best in tradition, taste and style of the Italian way of life.

www.passione-engadina.ch

Bernina Gran Turismo

September's Bernina Gran Turismo event picks up where the historic St. Moritz Automobile Weeks in 1929 and 1939 left off. Classic racing and sports cars, dating from pre- and post-World War times into the early 1980's, racing each other over the Bernina Pass, on the closed-off mountain road, take centre stage. That is not only pure adrenaline on 5.6 kilometres in an Alpine setting without equal; it also presents the unique occasion of having a road over a mountain pass all to oneself and to be able to test the technical limits of one's classic car.

www.bernina-granturismo.com

Suggested trips

Alpine passes
to St. Moritz

Classic and vintage cars are more popular than ever. They are desirable collector’s items, good investments and above all incredibly fun to drive. Particularly when crossing an Alpine pass. Allow us to introduce six Alpine passes that lead to St. Moritz.

There are plenty of good reasons for getting yourself a vintage car. Firstly, classic cars are simply a pleasure to drive. Or you might want to stand out from the crowd of more uniform modern cars. Then there’s the charm factor – after all, vintage models almost always retain their own special charisma or vibe. Nowadays, classic cars are also seen increasingly as a safe investment. And last but not least, your decision to take a trip back in time is likely to be influenced by where you live. Generally speaking, the more rural the area, the closer your emotional connection to your car. And if you’re surrounded by pristine nature and winding roads, you’re in a prime location for vintage car trips.

Release the clutch, let it slide and gently put your foot down to produce a satisfying "brrrrmmm" followed by a "gurgle-gurgle" from beneath the hood. If you’ve ever driven a classic car over an Alpine pass, you’ll know just what we’re talking about. Many pass roads through the Alps are perfect for an enjoyable excursion to the clouds. In the Upper Engadin there are six, which are described briefly below. Toot toot!

The Maloja Pass: It takes just 45 minutes to travel from the high Alpine Engadin climate at 1,800 metres above sea level to the mediterranean Italian town of Chiavenna below.

Albula Pass, 2,312 m

The Albula Pass links Engadin at La Punt with the Hinterrhein valley at Thusis. From La Punt, the road winds its way towards the top of the pass. There’s nothing quite like cruising along this route behind the wheel of a high-powered classic car. The western part of the pass follows the famous Albula railway line, which includes numerous bends, spiral tunnels and bridges.

Bernina Pass, 2,328 m

The first "International St. Moritz Automobile Week" was held way back in 1929. The undisputed highlight of the event was the mountain race from Poschiavo over the Bernina Pass. And rightly so. The Bernina is one of the most spectacular Swiss mountain passes and joins the Upper Engadin with the Veltlin valley in Italy. While you’re high up in the mountains, we recommend stopping by Ristorante Cambrena for a big bowl of pizzoccheri.

Flüela Pass, 2,383 m

The Flüela Pass connects Davos with the Engadin region. It doesn’t have many tight winding roads, but instead lots of nice long straights. Before the Vereina tunnel was completed, the pass was kept clear all year round, but since 1999 it has been closed in winter. The upper sections are dominated by barren high mountain ranges, further below the route takes you through pine forests.

Julier Pass, 2,284 m

A wonderfully flowing Alpine pass that is incredibly enjoyable to drive along. If you cross the Julier Pass from the north towards the Upper Engadin, you’ll be treated to a breathtaking view of Lake Silvaplana. These days the Julier is the main northern access point to the Engadin region, so it is open all year round and the roads are well maintained. 

Maloja Pass, 1,815 m

The Maloja Pass provides an attractive contrast to the St. Moritz landscape. It takes just 45 minutes to travel from the high Alpine Engadin climate at 1,800 metres above sea level to the mediterranean Italian town of Chiavenna below. In between there are the Upper Engadin lakes, a decrease in altitude of 1,500 metres, plenty of gloriously serpentine roads and a good 10 degree incline. After you arrive, we recommend stopping by a traditional crotto for a bite to eat. 

Ofen Pass, 2,149 m

Starting in Zernez, this route crosses the well-built Ofen Pass road north of the Swiss National Park and reaches the top of the pass after 19 km, just outside the park. Vintage car enthusiasts can look forward to wonderful natural scenery, particularly in autumn. Perfect for a customs-free trip to Livigno in Italy, or to Vinschgau for the apple harvest.

Automobile Tradition in St. Moritz

Unvergessene
St. Moritzer
Automobilwochen

1925 lässt Graubünden in der 10. Volksabstimmung als letzter Schweizer Kanton Autos zu. Bereits vier Jahre später organisiert St. Moritz die 1. Internationale Automobilwoche.

Auf Initiative einiger Engadiner Tourismuspioniere findet 1929 die erste «Internationale Automobilwoche St. Moritz» statt. Kern der Veranstaltung ist das «Bernina-Bergrennen», das über eine Distanz von 16,5 km führt. Die legendären Fahrer Hans Stuck auf Austro-Daimler ADR 3.0 (1929) und Louis Chiron auf Bugatti T47 (1930) gewinnen diese Rennen. Weitere prominente Rennfahrer wie Rudolf Caracciola, Ernst-Günther Burggaller, Prinz zu Leiningen oder Graf Arco-Zinneberg nehmen daran teil.

Eine weitere Attraktion der Automobilwochen ist das «Kilomètre Lancé», ein Beschleunigungsrennen über eine Strecke von genau einem Kilometer. Die Strasse zwischen Punt Muragl und Samedan wird zu diesem Zweck von Shell extra asphaltiert, was ihr den Namen Shellstrasse einbringt – die Bezeichnung ist heute noch für diesen Strassenabschnitt gebräuchlich. Das Berninarennen auf der grob geschotterten Strecke kann sich jedoch im internationalen Kalender nicht behaupten und wird nach der zweiten Austragung 1930 gestrichen. 

Heute führt die Engadiner Alpenmetropole ihre automobile Tradition jedes Jahr mit hochkarätigen Meetings wie das British Classic Car Meeting St. MoritzPassione Engadina oder dem WinterRaid fort. Der Event Bernina Gran Turismo knüpft dabei mit seinem Bergrennen auf dem abgesperrten Berninapass am stärksten an die historischen Automobilwochen von 1929 und 1930 an. Darüber hinaus finden im Engadin regelmässig Winterfahrtrainings renommierter Autohäuser wie BMW oder Maserati statt. Der St. Moritz Automobile Club veranstaltet organisierte Ausfahrten und wer seinen Klassiker im Engadin pflegen möchte, findet mit Volante Classic Car einen kompetenten Partner dafür. 

Drei Klassiker-Events kurz vorgestellt

British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz

Das British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz ist das elegante Highlight für Freunde klassischer Automobile aus Grossbritannien. Es vereint Eleganz und Klasse in der Engadiner Alpenwelt. Seit 1994 treffen sich jedes Jahr im Juli in St. Moritz um die 200 Classic Cars der Marken Rolls-Royce, Bentley, Aston Martin & Lagonda, Jaguar & Daimler, Austin-Healey & Healey zu Ausfahrten, Gleichmässigkeitsprüfung (Rallye) und «Concours d'Elégance». In der «Open Class» sind klassische Fahrzeuge anderer britischer Marken bis Baujahr 1967 in begrenzter Anzahl ebenso zum British Classic Car Meeting St. Moritz zugelassen.

www.bccm-stmoritz.ch

Passione Engadina

Seit 2012 treffen sich bei Passione Engadina im August ausschliesslich italienische Klassiker, die bis 1980 produziert worden sind. Zum Meeting zugelassen sind Modelle aller italienischen Automobilhersteller. Dabei wird jedes Jahr eine Marke als Gastmarke inszeniert. Höhepunkte des Events sind jeweils eine Rallye mit Gleichmässigkeitsprüfung über die alpinen Strassen des Engadins und ein Concorso d'Eleganza. Passione Engadina vereint nur das Beste der italienischen Lebensart in Bezug auf Tradition, Geschmack und Stil.

www.passione-engadina.ch

Bernina Gran Turismo

Der Event Bernina Gran Turismo knüpft jeweils im September an die historischen St. Moritzer Automobilwochen von 1929 und 1930 an. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei ein Bergrennen auf dem abgesperrten Berninapass, konzipiert für klassische Renn- und Sportwagen aus der Vor- und Nachkriegszeit, bis hinein in die frühen 1980er Jahre. Das bedeutet nicht nur 5,6 km Adrenalin in einer unvergleichlichen alpinen Umgebung – sondern auch die einzigartige Möglichkeit, die Passstrasse ganz für sich allein zu haben und somit die technischen Fähigkeiten seines Klassikers in vollem Umfang auszufahren.

www.bernina-granturismo.com

Tourenvorschläge

Alpenpässe
nach St. Moritz

Klassiker und Oldtimer sind angesagt wie nie zuvor. Sie sind Sympathieträger, Wertanlagen und vor allem Spassmobile, die bewegt werden wollen. Am besten über einen Pass. Sechs Alpenübergänge, die nach St. Moritz führen, kurz vorgestellt. 

Die Gründe, sich ein altes Auto zuzulegen, sind vielfältig. Zum einen ist da der Fahrspass, den ein Klassiker bietet. Zum anderen mag es beim einen oder anderen darum gehen, sich von der Gleichförmigkeit moderner Autos abzugrenzen. Dann ist da der Faktor Sympathie – schliesslich kann sich der Ausstrahlung eines Oldtimers selten jemand entziehen. In letzter Zeit werden Klassiker auch immer wieder als sichere Wertanlage gehandelt. Und zu guter Letzt kommt es eben auch drauf an, wo man zu Hause ist. Je ländlicher die Gegend, desto enger ist in der Regel die emotionale Bindung ans Automobil. Und je kurviger und ursprünglicher die Strassen vor der Haustür, desto besser eignen sich diese für Oldtimer-Ausfahrten.

Auskuppeln, gleiten lassen, ein bisschen Gas, und aus der Motorhaube tönt ein «buaaahhh», gefolgt von einem «gurgel-gurgel». Wer schon mal mit einem Klassiker einen Alpenpass befahren hat, sucht sich schnell den nächsten. Viele Passstrassen in den Alpen eignen sich perfekt für genussvolle Ausflüge ins Blaue. Ins Oberengadin führen gleich sechs davon, die wir hier kurz vorstellen. Happy motoring!

Der Malojapass: Vom hochalpinen Engadiner Klima auf 1800 m ü. M. in nur 45 Minuten ins mediterrane Chiavenna nach Italien.

Albulapass, 2’312 m

Der Albulapass verbindet das Engadin bei La Punt mit dem Tal des Hinterrheins bei Thusis. Von La Punt geht es in vielen Kurven zur Passhöhe. Die Strecke macht mit einem gut motorisierten Klassiker mächtig Spass. Der westliche Teil der Passstrecke führt entlang der berühmten Eisenbahnlinie, die sich in mehreren Kehren durch Kehrtunnels und über Brücken in die Höhe schraubt.

Berninapass, 2’328 m

Bereits 1929 haben in St. Moritz erstmals die «Internationalen St. Moritzer Automobilwochen» stattgefunden. Unbestrittener Höhepunkt des Events war schon damals das Bergrennen von Poschiavo auf den Berninapass. Zu Recht: Der Bernina ist einer der schönsten Schweizer Pässe und verbindet das Oberengadin mit dem italienischen Veltlin. Oben auf dem Hospiz empfiehlt sich ein Einkehrschwung ins Ristorante Cambrena auf eine satte Portion Pizzoccheri.

Flüelapass, 2'383 m

Der Flüelapass verbindet Davos mit dem Engadin. Er bietet nicht ganz so viele enge Serpentinen, dafür immer wieder schön lange Geraden. Bis zur Fertigstellung des Vereinatunnels ist der Pass ganzjährig freigehalten worden, seit 1999 kennt auch der Flüela eine Wintersperre. In den oberen Abschnitten dominieren karge Hochgebirgslandschaften die Szenerie, weiter unten geht’s durch Nadelwälder.

Julierpass, 2'284 m

Wunderschön flüssiger Alpenpass, der sehr viel Fahrspass verschafft. Wenn man vom Norden über den Julierpass ins Oberengadin fährt, bietet der Silvaplanersee ein fesselndes Naturschauspiel. Heute ist der Julier der wichtigste, ganzjährig geöffnete, nördliche Zugang zum Engadin und entsprechend gut ausgebaut. 

Malojapass, 1’815 m

Der Malojapass bietet gerade von St. Moritz aus ein attraktives Kontrastprogramm. Vom hochalpinen Engadiner Klima auf 1800 m ü. M. in nur 45 Minuten ins mediterrane Chiavenna nach Italien. Dazwischen liegen die Oberengadiner Seen, 1'500 Höhenmeter, viele schöne Serpentinen und gut 10 Grad. Unten angekommen empfehlen wir, in einem typischen Crotto einzukehren. 

Ofenpass, 2’149 m

Von Zernez ausgehend durchquert die gut ausgebaute Ofenpassstrasse nordseitig den Schweizer Nationalpark und erreicht nach 19 km knapp ausserhalb des Parks die Passhöhe. Wunderschöne Landschaften erwarten den Klassiker-Enthusiasten vor allem im Herbst. Perfekt für einen Ausflug ins zollfreie Livigno nach Italien oder ins Vinschgau zur Apfelernte.