The St. Moritz Bucket List

30 things to do before you leave

Great, you found our list! We've put together a list of 30 activities that are not to be missed during your time in St. Moritz. And if you don't have time to do everything, you'll simply have to come back again!

High tea in the lobby at Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Experience the grandeur of this historic hotel from the comfort of a sumptuous armchair. Badrutt's Palace Hotel is the most famous hotel in the Alps and an icon of St. Moritz's luxurious five-star accommodation. The fantastic lobby is open to visitors as well. And if you really can't do without afternoon tea after this experience, try the Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and Suvretta House lobbies too.

Down to the lake!

In winter the frozen Lake of St. Moritz is an arena for horseracing, polo or cricket matches, but in summer the rowers, sailing boats, fishermen and stand-up paddlers take over. But whatever your favourite sport, you'd better get out there – preferably in the early morning. Watch the first rays of sunshine dance on the water's surface while most people are still having breakfast. Magic.

Visit the «Kulm Country Club»

For the 2017 world ski championships, the Kulm Hotel has brought to life an historic monument in the centre of St. Moritz. Star architect Norman Foster, an ardent St. Moritz fan, has renovated and extended the Olympic Ice Pavilion dating back to 1905. Now called the «Kulm Country Club», it houses a public restaurant with terrace, a bar-lounge and a skate rental facility. Verdict: outstanding! Really.

Go ice-skating on black ice

In December, when the first small lakes have frozen over but it hasn't yet snowed, there's a unique opportunity to go ice-skating on black ice. However, a bit of caution is advisable: the lakes are not officially approved for skating, so you should consult St. Moritz Tourist Information first about the thickness of the ice. (Photo: stmoritz-art-academy.com)

Ride the Cresta Run

Courageous men in full body suits on improved ironing boards, like human torpedoes. We're talking about the Cresta Run in St. Moritz – forerunner to skeleton racing, practised since 1884 in the ice channel between St. Moritz and Celerina. Men only – this sport is exclusively available to men. You have to register in advance at the Cresta Run office, and beginners are required to complete a training course.

Visit the Segantini Museum

The monumental Alpine triptych «Life, Nature and Death» in the dome of the Segantini Museum is definitely worth a visit. Giovanni Segantini (1858–1899) is considered an important artist in the realm of realistic symbolism who breathed new life into Alpine painting in the late 19th century. He moved to the Engadine in 1894, and in 1908 St. Moritz opened the Segantini Museum in his honour.

Savour a slice of Engadine walnut tart

Engadine walnut tart is the ultimate guilty pleasure. Generations of local confectioners have continued to refine this speciality filled with cream, caramel and chunky walnuts. The result is today's renowned Engadine «tuorta da nusch engiadinaisa» – a baking tradition that international visitors have carried back to all corners of the globe. It is available from various patisseries, such as Conditorei Hanselmann and Confiserie Hauser. While you're there you can even read the New York Times as well as other quality newspapers.

Lake Staz in the early morning

The Engadine is blessed with sunny skies almost all year round, so that even the mountain lakes heat up to over 20 degrees in summer. «Lej da Staz» or Lake Staz is one of the Engadine's best lakes for swimming. The fen meadows and reed banks give it a very special character. Take an early morning dip to invigorate body and soul, or take time for yoga to charge up with new energy and inspiration.

Travel to Italy on the Bernina Express

A spectacular journey on the Bernina Express takes you across the Bernina pass (2,253 metres a.s.l.), through the romantic wilderness of Alpine valleys, past glaciers and mountain peaks, through Puschlav and all the way to Tirano in Italy. Unsurprisingly, the Rhätischen Railway's Bernina route was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2008. Enjoy!

Soak up the sunset from the summit of Muottas Muragl

Once you get up here, you'll never want to leave. Muottas Muragl boasts the best view over the Upper Engadine lakes. In fact, it's one of the most impressive panoramas in all of Switzerland. To get there, climb aboard the enchanting, vintage Muottas Muragl funicular railway. You can dine and spend the night at the mountain hotel.

Go dancing at the Dracula Club

The Dracula Club is a secret tip in St. Moritz. Gunter Sachs opened this world famous club in 1974, and founded its reputation for the most exclusive parties. Everyone talks about this club, but hardly anyone knows much about it. Then as now, the doors of this private club only open for members and their friends – and in summer for those attending the Festival da Jazz. So if you don't have friends in high places, make sure you buy tickets to the Jazz Festival!

Hit the shops

Via Serlas is St. Moritz's answer to Zurich's Bahnhofstrasse and Rodeo Drive in Los Angeles. Just on a much smaller scale. From Jimmy Choo and Gucci to Louis Vuitton, all of fashion's top international names can be found along this stylish shopping boulevard. You'll also find more major labels and boutiques in the village centre.

Go skiing – at night!

Corvatsch Snow Night: in winter you can go skiing every Friday night until 2.00 a.m. on Switzerland's longest illuminated ski run (4.2 km). Once their boots are off, skiers put on their party shoes and head to the dance floor at the legendary Hossa Bar. And when you wake up next day, try the 9-kilometer Hahnensee run down from the Corvatsch to St. Moritz Bad!

Enjoy a drop of whisky

Hotel Waldhaus am See boasts the world's most extensive whisky bar. Called Devil's Place, this in-house bar stocks 2,500 types of whisky. The impressive collection has made it into the pages of the Guinness Book of World Records on numerous occasions. 

Take a taxi ride – in a bobsleigh 

The Olympia bob run St. Moritz-Celerina is the only natural ice bobsleigh track in the world. Bobsleigh taxi rides are offered daily following training sessions and/or races. The 1,722-metre-long track only takes around 75 seconds to complete. At «horseshoe» corner you'll experience a centrifugal force of up to 4.5 G, and before the Martineau corner you'll reach top speeds as high as 135 km/h.

Walk to the eternal ice

The Bernina region between Pontresina and Cavaglia has always impressed visitors with its breathtaking beauty. Everything revolves around eternal ice, which is on full display from the Diavolezza mountain railway station on the Bernina massif. The Morteratsch glacier is easily accessible via a themed trail, and the glacial mills at Cavaglia are definitely worth a visit as well.

Ride down the Corviglia flow trail

Over the past few years, St. Moritz's local mountain Corviglia has become a veritable mountain bike paradise. This transformation owes much to its new flow trails and «mountain bike rollercoasters» with banked curves, corrugations and jumps. The Corviglia flow trail is the most famous and is also suitable for less experienced riders. But be warned: you might get distracted by the breathtaking panoramic views!

Explore the local architecture

The St. Moritz skyline is diverse, contradictory, unusual – and often underrated. Its architectural highlights include Norman Foster's Chesa Futura, the leaning tower, and the stadium that was used during the 1928 and 1948 Winter Olympic Games.

Sing at the Stübli

The «Stübli Bar» in Hotel Schweizerhof is small, smoky and something of a legend. During peak season live guitarists really heat things up. Join in and sing along!

Enjoy la dolce vita on frozen Lake St. Moritz

And witness the White Turf Horse Races (February) or the Snow Polo World Cup (January) or cricket matches (February). The tented city offers so many attractions that nobody ever gets bored. Enjoy it all in the sunshine over a glass of champagne.

Take the slowest fast train in the world

An 8-hour train trip, crossing 291 bridges, through 91 tunnels and over the 2033 m.a.s.l. Oberalp pass. This is the famous Glacier Express from St. Moritz to Zermatt. The «world's slowest fast train» is certainly the best way to see the best of Switzerland. Seats always have to be reserved.

Drive over an Alpine pass in a classic car

The serpentine roads of an Alpine pass are perfect for a delightful day trip to the clouds. There are six such routes heading into the Upper Engadine: the Albula, Bernina, Flüela, Maloja, Julier and Ofen passes. Drive with style over one of these passes behind the wheel of a vintage car – then drive down them all. Or take part in one of the St. Moritz classic car events.

Try your luck at the St. Moritz Casino

American roulette, black jack, ultimate Texas hold'em poker, slot machines. Lay down your cards in smooth James Bond style at the St. Moritz Casino.

Relax on the Alpina Hut terrace

Alpina Hütte in the Corviglia skiing area is the place to go for an authentic Alpine tavern experience. The leitmotif at this extensive outdoor terrace and bar: see and be seen. And if you're here in spring, be sure to take part in the waterslide contest.

Take a day trip on Lake Como

It's gorgeous down in St. Moritz and the Engadine. But you should also take advantage of the numerous nearby day trip destinations: visit Bergell during chestnut season, head to Chiavenna for a gelato, and to Colico on Lake Como. In about one hour you'll experience two countries, three vegetation and culture zones, and numerous culinary highlights.

Send a postcard

Yes, that's right. Not an SMS, WhatsApp message or Facebook post. Send your greetings the old-fashioned way. At many bookstores in St. Moritz you'll find classic historical St. Moritz motifs. The best place to write your postcards is in a beautiful hotel foyer or on a sunny terrace.

Visit an art gallery

Nowhere else in the Alps can you find so many galleries so close together as in St. Moritz and the Engadine. Always worth a visit are the internationally renowned Galerie Gmurzynska or the Vito Schnabel Gallery. The St. Moritz Design Gallery in Serletta parking is open 24/7 throughout the year with annually changing exhibitions. Worthwhile!

Take part in the Engadine Ski Marathon

The Engadine Ski Marathon is the largest cross-country skiing event in Switzerland, attracting around 13,000 participants annually. A calendar highlight for social skiers, curious tourists and pros alike.

Indulge in spa luxury

The best places to be pampered? The OVAVERVA Pool, Spa & Sports Centre St. Moritz, or in the public spas at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains, Badrutt's Palace HotelCarlton Hotel or Kulm Hotel St. Moritz. By the way: genuine St. Moritz springwater can be enjoyed in St. Moritz Spa, Forum Paracelsus or Kempinski-Spa. Here's to your health!

Just sit back and do nothing!

Don't forget: You're here to enjoy yourself. So take it easy and do nothing for a change. Not even any of the items on this list. Savour the creature comforts of your hotel room or holiday rental, treat yourself to breakfast in bed, gaze out of the window – and simply enjoy being here.

The St. Moritz Bucket List

30 things to do before you leave

Super, haben Sie diese Liste gefunden! Damit wird Ihnen in St. Moritz garantiert nicht langweilig, denn die folgenden 30 Highlights sollten Sie bei einem Besuch auf keinen Fall verpassen. Sie bleiben nicht so lange, um alles zu erleben? Kommen Sie einfach wieder!

Trinken Sie in der Lobby des Badrutt's Palace Hotels Tee

Erleben Sie historisch gewachsene Grandezza von einem bequemen Sessel aus. Das Badrutt's Palace Hotel ist wohl das berühmteste Hotel der Alpen und eine Ikone der St. Moritzer Fünfsternehotellerie. Die fantastische Lobby ist auch für externe Gäste offen. Sie sind auf den traditionellen Afternoon-Tea-Geschmack gekommen? Dann sollten Sie auch die Lobbies des Kulm Hotels St. Moritz und des Suvretta Houses besuchen. 

Ab auf den See! 

Während der (gefrorene) St. Moritzersee im Winter zur Sportarena für Pferderennen, Polo- oder Cricket-Turniere wird, ist er im Sommer fest in der Hand von Ruderern, Seglern, Fischern und Stand-up-Paddlern. Ganz egal, welche Sportart Ihnen lieber ist: Hauptsache Sie fahren raus. Am besten frühmorgens – wenn die ersten Sonnenstrahlen auf das Wasser treffen und alle noch beim Frühstück sitzen. Magisch. 

Besuchen Sie den «Kulm Country Club»

Das Kulm Hotel St. Moritz hat auf die Ski-WM 2017 hin ein Baudenkmal im Zentrum von St. Moritz zu neuem Leben erweckt: Der olympische Eispavillon von 1905 ist von Stararchitekt und St. Moritz-Freund Norman Foster renoviert und erweitert worden. Als «Kulm Country Club» beherbergt es ein öffentliches Restaurant mit Terrasse, eine Bar-Lounge sowie einen Schlittschuhverleih. Prädikat: herausragend! Wirklich. 

Gleiten Sie über Schwarzeis 

Wenn im Dezember die ersten Seen zugefroren sind und es noch nicht geschneit hat, ist sie da: Die seltene Möglichkeit, auf «schwarzgefrorenen» Seen Schlittschuh zu laufen. Dabei ist aber Vorsicht geboten: Die Seen werden nicht offiziell freigegeben, erkundigen Sie sich bitte bei der St. Moritz Tourist Information über den Eiszustand. (Bild: stmoritz-art-academy.com)

Ride the Cresta Run

Mutige Männer in Ganzkörperanzügen auf einem besseren Bügelbrett verwandeln sich hier zu menschlichen Torpedos. Die Rede ist vom Cresta Run in St. Moritz – eine Sportart, die als Vorläufer von Skeleton gilt und seit 1884 in der Eisrinne zwischen St. Moritz und Celerina praktiziert wird. Der Sport ist den Männern vorbehalten, eine Voranmeldung auf dem Cresta-Run-Sekretariat ist Pflicht, für Anfänger auch ein Trainingskurs. 

Lassen Sie sich von Giovanni Segantini inspirieren 

Das monumentale Alpentriptychon «Werden-Sein-Vergehen» in der Kuppel des Segantini Museums ist immer ein Besuch wert. Giovanni Segantini (1858–1899) gilt als bedeutender Künstler des realistischen Symbolismus und als grosser Erneuerer der Alpenmalerei. Er zog 1894 ins Engadin, 1908 wurde ihm zu Ehren in St. Moritz das Segantini Museum eröffnet.

Essen Sie ein Stück Engadiner Nusstorte 

Immer eine Sünde wert ist die Engadiner Nusstorte. Durch einheimische Zuckerbäcker wurde diese Spezialität verfeinert, mit Rahm-Caramel kombiniert und mit Baumnüssen abgerundet. So entstand eine Tradition, die Gäste in die ganze Welt tragen. Gibt's zum Beispiel in der renommierten Conditorei Hanselmann oder in der Confiserie Hauser. Lesen Sie dazu die New York Times oder eine andere gute Tageszeitung. 

Erleben Sie frühmorgens den Stazersee

Dank den vielen Sonnentagen im Engadin erwärmen sich im Sommer selbst Bergseen auf über 20 Grad. Der Lej da Staz oder Stazersee gehört zu den Engadiner Badeklassikern. Moorwiesen und Schilfbestände geben ihm sein besonderes Gepräge. Erfrischen Sie Geist und Körper mit einer morgendlichen Schwimm-Session darin oder nehmen Sie sich Zeit für Yoga und tanken Sie neue Kraft und Inspiration. 

Fahren Sie mit dem Bernina Express nach Italien

Die erlebnisreiche Fahrt mit dem Bernina Express über den Berninapass (2'253 m ü. M.) führt durch wildromantische Täler, vorbei an Gletschern und Gipfeln ins Puschlav bis nach Tirano nach Italien. Kein Wunder ist 2008 die Berninastrecke der Rhätischen Bahn in die UNESCO-Welterbeliste aufgenommen worden. Enjoy!

Muottas Muragl sehen und sterben

So ungefähr könnte ein Werbespruch für Muottas Muragl klingen. Denn wer einmal hier oben gewesen ist, der will gar nicht mehr weg. Von Muottas Muragl aus haben Sie die beste Sicht auf die Oberengadiner Seen – eines der schönsten Panoramen der Schweiz schlechthin. Hoch bringt Sie die bezaubernde und altehrwürdige Zahnradbahn Muottas Muragl. Im Berghotel lässt es sich essen und übernachten. 

Tanzen Sie im Dracula Club

Der Dracula Club gilt als einer der geheimnisvollsten Orte in St. Moritz. Gegründet von Gunther Sachs 1974, wurden hier schon immer die exklusivsten Partys gefeiert. Über den Club sprechen alle, obwohl kaum jemand Konkretes berichten kann. Nach wie vor öffnen sich die Tore des privaten Clubs nur für Mitglieder und deren Freunde – im Sommer allerdings für jeden Besucher des Festival da Jazz. Wenn Sie also niemanden kennen, dann besuchen Sie das Festival da Jazz!

Gehen Sie shoppen

Was in Zürich die Bahnhofstrasse oder in Los Angeles der Rodeo Drive, ist in St. Moritz die Via Serlas. Nur eben auf viel kleinerem Raum. Von Jimmy Choo über Gucci bis Louis Vuitton reiht sich hier alles aneinander was Rang und Namen im internationalen Modegeschäft hat. Die Reihe grosser Namen wird im Dorfzentrum noch bereichert.

Fahren Sie Ski – nachts!

An der Corvatsch Snow Night fahren Sie im Winter jeden Freitag bis nachts um 2 Uhr auf der längsten beleuchteten Piste der Schweiz (4.2 km). Nach dem Skischwingen trifft man sich in der legendären Hossa Bar, wo die Party mit Hüftschwüngen weitergeht. Sie fahren doch lieber tagsüber Ski? Dann sollten Sie ein Mal im Leben die 9 Kilometer lange Hahnenseeabfahrt vom Corvatsch runter nach St. Moritz Bad erlebt haben. 

Trinken Sie Whiskey

Im Hotel Waldhaus am See finden Sie die grösste Whiskeybar der Welt. Devil's Place, so der Name der hauseigenen Bar, hält 2'500 Whisky-Sorten bereit. Schon einige Male hat diese Whisky-Sammlung einen Eintrag im «Guinness Buch der Rekorde» erhalten.

Machen Sie eine Taxifahrt – im Bobkanal

Der Olympia Bob Run St. Moritz-Celerina ist die einzige Natureisbahn der Welt. Taxifahrten finden täglich im Anschluss an die Trainings- und/oder Rennfahrten statt. Für die 1'722 Meter lange Fahrt benötigen Sie ca. 75 Sekunden, im «Horse Shoe» erreichen Sie einen Druck von bis 4,5 G und vor dem Martineau Corner einen Top Speed von bis zu 135 km/h.

Wandern Sie zum ewigen Eis

Das Bernina-Gebiet zwischen Pontresina und Cavaglia besticht schon seit jeher durch seine atemberaubende Schönheit. Im Zentrum steht dabei das ewige Eis mit der einmaligen Aussicht von der Bergstation Diavolezza auf das Bernina-Massiv, dem einfachen Gletscherzugang zum Morteratsch-Gletscher über den Themenweg oder den sehenswerten Gletschermühlen in Cavaglia.

Fahren Sie den Corviglia Flow Trail runter

Der St. Moritzer Hausberg Corviglia ist der Mountainbike-Berg schlechthin. Zu diesem Ruf haben unter anderem verschiedene Flow Trails, gebaute «Mountainbike-Achterbahnen» mit Steilwandkurven, Bodenwellen und Sprüngen, beigetragen. Der Corviglia Flow Trail ist der berühmteste davon und gehört auf die Bucket List eines jeden Mountainbikers. Achtung: Traumpanorama!

Unternehmen Sie einen Architektur-Spaziergang

Die Architektursilhouette von St. Moritz ist vielseitig, gegensätzlich, aussergewöhnlich – und oft unterschätzt. Zu den Architekturhighlights gehören Norman Fosters Chesa Futura, der schiefe Turm oder etwa das Olympia-Stadion von 1928 und 1948.

Singen Sie im Stübli 

Das «Stübli» im Hotel Schweizerhof ist eng, verraucht und legendär. Das Publikum ist bunt gemischt und während der Hochsaison heizen Live-Gitarristen die Stimmung an. Singen und tanzen Sie einfach mit!

Erleben Sie die dolce vita auf dem gefrorenen St. Moritzersee

Der St. Moritzersee wird im Winter zu einer einzigartigen Sportarena in der die berühmten White-Turf-Pferderennen (Februar), das Snowpolo-Turnier (Januar) oder Cricket-Turniere (Februar) stattfinden. Die Zeltstadt mit zahlreichen Attraktionen sorgt dafür, dass es Besuchern hier nie langweilig wird. Geniessen Sie die Sonne, genehmigen Sie sich ein Glas Sekt und schauen Sie einfach dem Treiben zu. 

Nehmen Sie den langsamsten Schnellzug der Welt

Eine 8-Stunden-Bahnfahrt über 291 Brücken, durch 91 Tunnels und über den 2033 m hohen Oberalppass. Das ist der weltberühmte Glacier Express von St. Moritz bis Zermatt. Der «langsamste Schnellzug der Welt» zeigt einen Querschnitt durch die vielfältige Schweiz und ist ein Stück echtes Reisevergnügen. Platzreservation ist in allen Zügen obligatorisch.

Fahren Sie mit einem Klassiker über einen Alpenpass

Viele Passstrassen in den Alpen eignen sich perfekt für genussvolle Ausflüge ins Blaue. Ins Oberengadin führen gleich sechs davon: die Pässe Albula, Bernina, Flüela, Maloja, Julier und Ofen. Reisen Sie stilvoll mit einem Oldtimer über einen dieser Pässe an – und fahren Sie danach alle ab. Oder nehmen Sie gleich an einem der St. Moritzer Automobilanlässe teil.

Versuchen Sie Ihr Glück im Casino St. Moritz 

American Roulette, Black Jack, Ultimate Texas Hold'em Poker, Slotmaschinen. Fühlen Sie sich ruhig wie James Bond, wenn Sie im Casino St. Moritz die Karten zücken. 

Relaxen Sie auf der Terrasse der Alpina Hütte 

Die Alpina Hütte im Skigebiet Corviglia ist ein echter Hüttenklassiker. Auf der grossen Sonnenterrasse mit Schneebar lautet das Motto: Sehen und gesehen werden. Und wenn Sie schon mal hier sind: Machen Sie im Frühling beim Waterslide Contest mit.

Unternehmen Sie einen Ausflug an den Comersee

Es ist ja schon superschön in St. Moritz und im Engadin. Aber nutzen Sie auch mal die zahlreichen Möglichkeiten für nahegelegene Ausflüge. Unser Evergreen: Die kleine grosse Reise durchs Bergell ins italienische Chiavenna zum Gelato und weiter bis Colico an den Comersee. In einer guten Stunde Fahrzeit erleben Sie so zwei Länder, drei Vegetations- und Kulturräume und viele kulinarische Highlights! 

Schreiben Sie eine Postkarte 

Ja genau, keine SMS, keine WhatsApp-Nachricht, kein Facebook- oder Instagram-Post. Sagen Sie es wieder mal ganz klassisch. In den St. Moritzer Buchhandlungen gibt's alte, historische St. Moritz-Sujets zu kaufen. Und am besten schreiben Sie die Postkarte in einer schönen Hotelhalle oder auf einer Sonnenterrasse.

Besuchen Sie eine Kunstgalerie

Nirgends in den Alpen finden sich auf engstem Raum so viele Galerien wie in St. Moritz und dem Engadin. Immer ein Besuch wert sind die international beachtete Galerie Gmurzynska oder die Vito Schnabel Gallery. Die St. Moritz Design Gallery im Parkhaus Serletta ist an 365 Tagen während 24 Stunden offen und zeigt jährlich wechselnde Ausstellungen. Sehenswert! 

Laufen Sie den Engadin Skimarathon

Der «Engadiner» ist mit gut 13'000 Teilnehmern aus rund 60 Nationen die grösste Skilanglaufveranstaltung der Schweiz. Ein Highlight für Plausch-, Erlebnis- und Spitzenlangläufer gleichermassen. Zeigen Sie es Ihrem inneren Schweinehund und wagen Sie es!

Lassen Sie sich in einem Spa verwöhnen  

Am besten im OVAVERVA Hallenbad, Spa & Sportzentrum St. Moritz, oder auch in den traumhaften Spas im Kempinski Grand Hotel des BainsBadrutt's Palace Hotel, Carlton Hotel oder im Kulm Hotel St. Moritz. Übrigens: Das originale St. Moritzer Quellwasser gibt's im Heilbad St. Moritz, im Forum Paracelsus oder im Kempinski-Spa zu trinken. Prost und auf Ihr Wohl! 

Machen Sie mal nichts!

Vergessen Sie nicht: Sie sind zum Spass da. Also nehmen Sie es locker und machen Sie mal gar nichts. Auch nicht das, was auf dieser Liste steht. Geniessen Sie Ihr Hotelzimmer oder Ihre Ferienwohnung, lassen Sie sich das Frühstück ans Bett bringen, schauen Sie aus dem Fenster und freuen Sie sich, hier zu sein.