Cresta Run St. Moritz

Heroes of the ice

Hurtling down an ice track head-first at 140 km/h while keeping your nose just a few centimetres above the ice. In St. Moritz, this kind of incredible adrenaline rush is only possible on the legendary Cresta Run.

Brave men in full-body suits on trumped-up ironing boards with handles transform themselves into human torpedoes. Introducing Cresta in St. Moritz – this unusual sport later evolved into what we now know as skeleton, and has been carried out on an ice track between St. Moritz and Celerina since 1884.

High speed manoeuvres

It looks as crazy as it sounds: the athletes lie on sleds like tadpoles. At the wide end is the full-face helmet, while behind, the rider’s legs wriggle around in an attempt to steer the vehicle. Skilful manoeuvring is key. For unlike a bobsleigh run, the shape of the Cresta Run is a wide open "U", which means you can fly right off the track if you’re not careful.

Legendary shuttlecock separates the wheat from the chaff

There are two starting lines on the Cresta Run: the full-length version begins at "Top", while a shorter two-thirds option starts at "Junction". Beginners are only allowed to start at the latter, and for good reason: the average speed clocked up by the best riders from a standing start is around 90 km/h, and the top speed on the lower part of the track is approximately 140 km/h. The most notorious of the ten corners is the "shuttlecock". It acts as a kind of safety valve for sleds that are too fast and out of control. The surrounding area is hence padded with hay bales. Riders who exit this corner with a display of aerial acrobatics gain entry to the "shuttlecock club" – and from then on can officially wear a red neck tie in the Cresta Club. The current Cresta record has been held by Brit James Sunley since 1999 when he completed the run in just 50.09 seconds.

Cresta Run
Skilful manoeuvring is crucial on the Cresta Run. Unlike on the bob run, if you’re not careful you can fly right off the track.
Gentlemen only

The Cresta Run is an adventure, it’s like playing with fire – which is precisely what makes it so fascinating. Normally the Cresta Run opens shortly before Christmas and closes at the start of March. Over thirty high-calibre races are held here throughout the winter. And it’s all very British: the announcer speaks exclusively in English, many riders wear historical sports clothing and good old-fashioned British manners are also writ large. The Cresta Club is one of the few remaining men’s clubs. Women are not allowed to use the run, except on the very last day of the season.

Beginners welcome

The Cresta Club is indeed very exclusive, but non-members are also welcome to try their luck. Originally, the club’s members were almost exclusively British or American. However it’s become more open in the last few years and today many members hail from Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Austria and France. Members consider it a great honour to teach beginners and introduce them to the world of the Cresta Run, and to thereby ensure this long-standing winter tradition lives on.

www.cresta-run.com

Cresta Run
Das Clubhouse der Cresta-Members besticht durch seine eigenwillige Architektur.
The Cresta Run
play video

Cresta Run St. Moritz

Helden des Eiskanals

Mit 140 Sachen kopfvoran den Eiskanal hinabdonnern und dabei die Nase nur wenige Zentimeter über dem Eis halten. Diese Extraportion Adrenalin gibt's nur in St. Moritz beim legendären Cresta Run. 

Mutige Männer in Ganzkörperanzügen auf einem besseren Bügelbrett mit Griffen verwandeln sich hier zu menschlichen Torpedos. Die Rede ist vom Cresta in St. Moritz – eine Sportart, die als Vorläufer vom Skeleton gilt und bereits seit 1884 in der Eisrinne zwischen St. Moritz und Celerina praktiziert wird.

Manövrieren bei Temporausch

Das Ganze sieht so verrückt aus wie es klingt: Wie Kaulquappen liegen die Athleten auf dem Schlitten. Das dicke Ende ist der Integralhelm und hinten wackeln die Beine des Fahrers, die zappelnd versuchen, der Fahrt eine Richtung zu geben. Gutes Manövrieren ist wichtig. Denn anders als bei einer Bobbahn ist das Profil des Cresta Runs ein breites, oben offenes "U". Das heisst: Man kann auch aus der Bahn fliegen, wenn man nicht aufpasst.

Legendärer Shuttlecock trennt Spreu vom Weizen

Beim Cresta Run gibt es zwei Startpunkte: Die volle Streckenlänge startet beim „Top“, die um einen Drittel entschärfte Strecke beim „Junction“. Anfänger dürfen nur bei letzterem Punkt starten. Aus guten Grund: Die Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit der besten Fahrer beträgt heute - bei stehendem Start - knapp 90 km/h, die Höchstgeschwindigkeit auf dem unteren Teil der Piste hingegen ca. 140 km/h. Von den insgesamt zehn Kurven ist der "Shuttlecock" die berüchtigste. Diese Kurve dient als Sicherheitsventil für zu schnelle, unkontrollierte Schlitten. Die Abflugzone ist mit Strohballen gesichert. Fahrer, die in dieser Zone ihre Flugkünste testen, werden in den „Shuttlecock Club“ aufgenommen – und dürfen fortan offiziell eine rote Krawatte im Cresta Club tragen. Der Brite James Sunley hält übrigens seit 1999 den Streckenrekord - mit 50.09 Sekunden. 

Cresta Run
Gutes Manövrieren ist auf dem Cresta Run wichtig. Denn anders als bei einer Bobbahn kann man hier auch rausfliegen.
Gentlemen only

Das Spiel mit der Gefahr kombiniert mit einem Hauch Abenteuer – das ist es wohl, was das Fahren auf dem Cresta Run so faszinierend macht. Normalerweise eröffnet der Cresta Run kurz vor Weihnachten und schliesst anfang März. Während des Winters finden über dreissig hochkarätige Rennen statt. Dabei geht es "very british" zu und her: Der Speaker hält sich strikte an die englische Sprache und viele Fahrer tragen historische Sportbekleidung. Auch die guten alten britischen Manieren werden grossgeschrieben. Der Cresta Club ist einer der letzten traditionellen Männerclubs. Denn Frauen dürfen nicht starten – ausser am allerletzten Tag der Saison. 

Anfänger willkommen

Der Cresta Club ist zwar privat, aber auch Nicht-Mitglieder sind willkommen, einen "Run" zu absolvieren. Dem Club gehörten ursprünglich fast nur Engländer und Amerikaner an. In den letzten Jahren ist er jedoch offen gestaltet worden und heute stammt ein Teil der Mitglieder aus der Schweiz, Deutschland, Italien, Österreich oder Frankreich. Es ist Ehrensache eines jeden Mitglieds, Anfängern Anleitungen zu geben und sie behutsam in die Welt des Cresta Runs einzuführen – und damit für die nächste Generation von Cresta-Run-Helden zu sorgen.

www.cresta-run.com

Cresta Run
Das Clubhouse der Cresta-Members besticht durch seine eigenwillige Architektur.
The Cresta Run
play video